Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane represent Liverpool in this season’s six-man PFA Player of the Year shortlist; joining Manchester City’s Bernardo Silva, Raheem Sterling and Sergio Aguero, and Chelsea’s Eden Hazard.

The shortlist was expected to be dominated by Liverpool and Man City stars after both teams’ dominating Premier League campaigns, while Hazard has been making headlines of his own in a disappointing Chelsea side.

All five men weren’t in the picture for last year’s award, although Van Dijk and Mane’s Liverpool team-mate Mohamed Salah pipped Kevin De Bruyne to the post after a stunning first season at Anfield.

City’s Sterling was voted Young Player of the Year last term and is now alongside the Reds’ Dutch centre-back as joint-favourite for the big one this time around.

The winner will be announced at the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday 28 April, hours after what could be a decisive game for City at Burnley.

The other PFA Player of the Year nominees